One Four Challenge, January Week 1: Vietnamese Boats

My choice for this month’s One For Challenge was a photo of the wooden boats that populate the waters off Vietnam.

The original needed some basic editing. I got rid of the debris pile on the sand in the foreground and deleted the dark blip on the left hand side.
Boats in a Village near Hoi An: Original I wasn’t crazy about the white sky and thought maybe I could drop in something a bit more interesting. This turned out to be trickier than I thought when I realized the dark sky had to be also reflected in the water. At one point I just gave up and scaled the sky over the whole image, lighting up here and there. This certainly has a stormier mood than the original.Boats in a Village near Hoi An: Storm EffectLater I went back and again tried to add a dark sky with a corresponding reflection in the water and I finally got it to work. 
Boats in a Village near Hoi An: Storm Effect One week later, my latest version with the underlying photo brightened up. (The painful process of lightening up.) Thanks for all the feedback!
Boats in a Village near Hoi An: Storm Effect Part Of Robin G’s One Four Challenge, where you take one photo and edit it four different ways.

20 responses to “One Four Challenge, January Week 1: Vietnamese Boats

  1. Pingback: One Four Challenge, Week 4 January: Vietnamese Boats | Elizabatz Gallery·

  2. Pingback: One Four Challenge, Week 2 January: Vietnamese Boats | Elizabatz Gallery·

  3. The last one is a winner and the sky looks natural, the first edit looked kind of blotchy to me. Looking forward to next week

  4. I love boats and boat images – I know you’re going to have some fun and challenges with this one.
    I agree – congrats on adding a sky with a refection!!
    I like the brightness and colour in your original and agree with your choice of darkening the sky.
    Just a couple of other thoughts for the sky – Have you tried messing with clarity and lowering the white tones? Skies are often the hardest for me and I find this helps as well as adding Neutral Density after the fact, although not in every instance and not necessarily both at once – does that make any sense?
    Love this beginning to January and looking forward to the rest.
    Happy New Year Eliza!! (oops it’s a book) 😉

  5. Yes your second variation is definately the one. My eye kept going to the central boat in the middle, wondering why it was so dark, it feels like it should be a bit lighter with the reflection of the sky on the water brightening it up a bit maybe?

    • Thanks for your comment – I was kind of randomly going around lightning patches here and there, and felt that it needed a bit more lightning but wasn’t sure where. I’ll try add some light to the middle boat (it’s dark in the original too) and possibly the left top edge…

Leave a Reply

