April Review Week 4: Playing Around with Sketch Guru, a Free Photo App

I have been trying out all sorts of apps over the last few months, and for this week’s April Review I am using Sketch Guru.

Sketch Guru was used by SVTakeItEasy with great effect in their January Spoonbill edit. The app is free, or you can pay a small sum to avoid the annoying ads.

The annoying ads are really annoying, flashing and blinking their way into everything I tried to do. However, I found that once I got into photo editing mode the ads kind of muted themselves – I just had to make sure I didn’t accidentally click on one and end up playing Mahjong or something.
Fishermen in Sketch Guru Screen Shot While some apps have dramatically different ‘smart filter’ results that depend on qualities of the original photo, Sketch Guru gives pretty consistent results. There are a few options available but when I tried to use them the option screen covered up my image. With no live preview it was a pretty wild guess at what I would get, so I more or less stuck to the defaults.

My favourite filters.
Gouache.

Frozen Sunset in Sketch Guru Gouache Fishermen in Sketch Guru Gouache Sketch Guru has two very different styles of watercolour, and both of them are much ‘prettier’ than Waterlogue’s styles.

Watercolour.

Frozen Sunset in Sketch Guru Watercolour Fishermen in Sketch Guru Watercolour

Watercolour 2.

Frozen Sunset in Sketch Guru Watercolour Fishermen in Sketch Guru Watercolour

Color Pencil 2.

Fishermen in Sketch Guru Pencil CrayonSketch Guru only saves in low resolution so it’s strictly for playing around with, but I really like the effects!

More on Robyn G’s One Four Challenge.

6 responses to “April Review Week 4: Playing Around with Sketch Guru, a Free Photo App

Leave a Reply

