One Four Challenge June Week 3: My Purple Smoke Tree

This week I’m trying for an old-fashioned hand-tinted photo look.

First I ran my purple smoke tree photo through the app Photoshop Express look ‘Misty’ which didn’t quite work for me. Purple smoke tree mistyThen I looked up ‘how to do a hand-tinted photo in Photoshop’. Most of the results were videos and my Flash is out of date so rather than bother with the updating I picked one of the few basic instruction ones and hit pay dirt. This method is so easy, just what I wanted!

  1. Save your photo as a psd document.
  2. Copy your original photo and paste onto two new layers.
  3. Turn the lower layer to black and white using the sepia option. Hand-tinted Look for the Purple Smoke Tree: the Sepia Layer
  4. Blur the upper layer using Gaussian Blur.Hand-tinted Look for the Purple Smoke Tree: the Blur Layer
  5. Hit ‘multiply’ on the blurred layer. From this point on it is just a matter of lightening and possibly desaturating parts of the image until you get the effect you want… Hand-tinted Look for the Purple Smoke Tree: the layers combined

The original post that I used as a tutorial came from Photoshop Essentials: Old-Fashioned, Hand-Tinted Photo Effect With Photoshop.

More on Robyn G’s One Four Challenge.

11 responses to “One Four Challenge June Week 3: My Purple Smoke Tree

  1. Pingback: One Four Challenge October Week 2: The Sacred Shore | Elizabatz Gallery·

  2. Pingback: One Four Challenge July Week 4: Etretat on the Alabaster Coast | Elizabatz Gallery·

  3. This is so interesting Marsha – really like that softness and it is an easy tute! I like the old written tutorials. I have slow internet 😜 You have a very nice old result this week!

  4. I’m going to have try out this method, it looks great! I’m still in awe of the beauty of this tree. I hope you will take a another picture of it in the fall when it changes colors 🙂

Leave a Reply

