One Four Challenge July Week 3: Etretat on the Alabaster Coast

My attempts to duplicate Monet’s colours on the computer were a disaster!

1. Most of the standard techniques for changing colours in Photoshop (Colour Balance, Hue/Saturation, Photo Filter) merely added an unattractive colour cast to the ‘painting’.

2. Using ‘Replace Color’ resulted in a very patchy unattractive effect.

3. Another attempt along this line was to select only the rock cliffs and ‘airbrush’ purple tones on a second layer which was then blended into the first. But I ran into trouble adding the scattering of orangy tones to the sky and water. This was because….

4. … all virtual paint brushes painted with one colour only, with none of that wonderful blending of tones that you get with a ‘real’ paintbrush and ‘real’ paint. This was true in both Photoshop and later in Psykopaint which I went back to in desperation.

Screen shot of the white cliffs of Etretat painted with Psykopaint

5. With Psykopaint I was able to ‘blend’ these single colours into the actual colours of the photo beneath, but I found the result murky and heavy-handed, even when brightened up.
Etretat painted with Psykopaint So the following was the best I could come up with, and note that I’m not putting the Monet painting of the same scene next to them as the Monet puts them to shame.

Étretat as done in Psykopaint photo app with a Monet brush, and adjusted in Pixlromatic.
Etretat as done in Psyko photo app with a Monet brush, and adjusted in Pixlromatic Another version of the same ‘painting’ in Pixlromatic, looking rather like a faded old painting. Not at all Monet-like, but I kind of like it…
Etretat as done in Psyko photo app with a Monet brush, and adjusted in Pixlromatic Here is a screen shot of Étretat painted with Psykopaint and edited in Stackables.A screen shot of Etretat painted with Psykopaint and edited in StackablesAnd the final result, looking like an old Renaissance painting, well sort of…
Etretat painted with Psykopaint and edited in Stackables More on Robyn G’s One Four Challenge.

13 responses to “One Four Challenge July Week 3: Etretat on the Alabaster Coast

  1. This is hands down my favourite so far for the month, even though it’s probably strayed from your plan 😉
    I find it so pleasing with it’s harmonious colours and light.

  2. It must be incredibly frustrating when you just can’t quite create the effect you want! I love all of the different painterly edits, though – they each have their own attraction. 🙂

  3. I really like seeing all the different effects you tried this week. I love the edit that you came up with for your final image – it is great! Sometimes it can be frustrating when things don’t work in Photoshop or an App quite like we expect them to! Other times I totally botch what I’m trying to come up with and come up with something really cool.

  4. A mere Renaissance masterpiece? I’ll take that any day. I enjoyed seeing and hearing about your failed attempts at a mere Monet masterpiece but love what you came up with. This one could be my favorite of all 3 weeks. Can’t wait till next week to see if you saved the best for last.

  5. I really enjoy seeing the different effects you tried this week Eliza. I like the reddish one and don’t mind the faded version. The Renaissance version is really pleasing too!

Leave a Reply

