One Four Challenge October Week 1: The Sacred Shore

The first stop on our excursion into the Sacred Shore of Spain was the Parador de Santo Estevo, an old monastery that had been converted into a hotel.

They were in the process of preparing for a wedding with decorations consisting of casually arranged hydrangeas and ivy draped over the ancient stone walls.

The Original.

Wedding hydrangeas in the Parador on the Rio Sil For this month’s challenge I thought I would explore the differences in the apps to try and figure out which process produced an image closest to the way it felt wandering through that ancient building.

My first foray was into watercolour, and my favourite app Waterlogue.

This is the ‘Natural’ look. Wedding hydrangeas in the Parador on the Sacred Shore of the Ruio Sil in Spain: Waterlogue 'Natural'The yellow-tinged ‘Travelogue’ look.Wedding hydrangeas in the Parador on the Sacred Shore of the Rio Sil in Spain: Waterlogue 'Travelogue' This ‘Shallow’ look is my personal choice for the week. Wedding hydrangeas in the Parador on the Sacred Shore of the Rio Sil in Spain: Waterlogue 'Shallow'? Neither of Sketch Guru’s two ‘Watercolour’ looks worked, so I’ve included the ‘Gouache’ instead, even though it’s an entirely different look. Wedding hydrangeas in the Parador on the Sacred Shore of the Rio Sil in Spain: Sketch Guru 'Gouache' A Monastery/Parador on the Ribeira Sacra in Galicia, Spain

More of Robyn G’s One Four Challenge.

9 responses to “One Four Challenge October Week 1: The Sacred Shore

  1. So many to choose from, I love it when I have too many edits that I like and feel the need to share them all. 😀 I think this week, I’d have to choose the first one, ‘natural’, as my fav. 😀

  2. A lovely photo of a beautiful place. This is going to be fun. I love your experiments. I really like the natural watercolour look with it’s hard and soft lines and The Shallow is quite wonderful with its wet in wetlook. I think each of them has promise. Love the blue of the hydrangea!

  3. I too like the natural look..
    I have never had success with waterlogue(maybe I should try it next week for my edit..since I don’t think it would work…but I might be surprised!!)

    • I found that there has too be just the right amount of detail. Faces in particular don’t turn out well (too much detail) and too little detail are kind Of blah (sunsets without silhouettes of people or boats). Have fun playing with it!

  4. I like the water colour effect and this works really well, my personal pref is the Natural look of the three.

Leave a Reply

