One Word Photo Challenge: Summer Peaches (and White Balance)

When I think of summer I think of fresh fruit, and my very favourite is a juicy ripe peach that can only found in the summer.

A truly ripe peach is messy – I have to take it outside and hang over the balcony letting the nectar drip down my chin on to the garden below. And even though I have a juice-proof camera, I’m not about to take a selfie of this process; it just doesn’t do justice to that exquisite taste.

Instead I decided to photograph the ripe peaches in a basket. Which wasn’t as easy as I thought. The photo didn’t even vaguely match that rich colouring of the peaches that I saw before me. Then I remembered white balance.

Peaches under 'Auto' look the same as peaches on the White Balance setting 'Fluorescent'

Peaches with the White Balance setting at ‘Fluorescent’ look the same as the peaches taken on ‘Auto’.

Most Point and Shoot cameras have a place where you can change the ‘White Balance’ but it isn’t usually an option under ‘Auto’, or in the case of my juice-proof camera, ‘Macro’. The peaches above were taken with the ‘Auto’ setting and look the same as the peaches taken on Aperature Priority (Av) White Balance set to ‘Fluorescent’. Then I tried ‘Sunny’ and ‘Cloudy’.

Peaches on the White Balance setting 'Sunny'

Peaches with the White Balance setting ‘Sunny’.

At last! With ‘Cloudy, the colour of the peaches in the photo actually matches the glow of the peaches I see before me.

Peaches on the White Balance setting 'Cloudy'

Peaches with the White Balance setting ‘Cloudy’.

Now don’t look; I’m off to bite into one of these juicy sweet creatures and it’s not a pretty sight.

More of Jennifer Nichole-Wells’ One Word Photo Challenge: Summer

2 responses to “One Word Photo Challenge: Summer Peaches (and White Balance)

  1. Pingback: One Word Photo Challenge: Pick your Own | Jennifer Nichole Wells·

Leave a Reply

