One Word Challenge: Photographing Jewelry on Different Backgrounds

Usually I just scan my jewelry with a white background. This doesn’t work with every piece of jewelry though, and this challenge gave me a chance to experiment with some different backgrounds!

‘Ice Storm’ necklace and earrings using my standard scanning method.
'Ice Storm' Necklace and Earrings, with quartz crystals, sparkly blue goldstone and sterling silver Trying out some of my ‘Storm’ necklaces on different backgrounds.
Trying out some of my 'Storm' necklaces on different backgrounds
I liked this combo of two coloured papers, although I’m not sure if the Blue Goldstone shows up as well as it should.
Ice Storm Necklace & Earrings ‘Night Storm’ necklace and earrings on a dark tile. Originally I used a black tile but the black Onyx didn’t show up so I opted for a lighter grey one.'Night Storm' necklace and earrings on a tile background What I really wanted to test was photographing the jewelry on a printed background.
'Ice Storm' Necklace on a Printed BackgroundNatural light worked best.
'Ice Storm' necklace on printed background under natural light But after all that effort I don’t think the printed background actually works, and my favourite was the necklace laid out on a piece of white silk.
'Ice Storm' necklace on white silk backgroundNote: The ‘Ice Storm’ necklace is made of quartz crystals, sterling silver, labradorite, seed beads and blue goldstone.

Jennifer Nichole Wells One Word Challenge: Background

3 responses to “One Word Challenge: Photographing Jewelry on Different Backgrounds

    • Looking at them again after a week made me realize that my typical scan method makes both the silver leaf and the quartz crystals gleam in a way that they don’t with any other method, including the silk. The tiny blue flash of the laboradorite also shows up. So I guess my traditional method stands for now although the silk certainly gives a suggestion of what you could wear with the necklace. I’ll probably put both up…

  1. Pingback: One Word Photo Challenge: Backlit | Jennifer Nichole Wells·

Leave a Reply

