Changing Seasons in the Park: January 2015

A Wet Tree in a Woodland area in Queen Elizabeth ParkAlthough I didn’t take part in the Cardinal’s Changing Seasons Challenge last year, I did go out and photograph Queen Elizabeth Park in January, 2015.

What I found interesting was that I went out with my old camera, and although I was photographing basically the same things, the results were quite different from what I shot with my new camera.

My old camera is a Nikon Coolpix AW100, a waterproof version that is pretty handy in Vancouver! But it was getting old, the batteries always needed charging and besides, I was getting frustrated by the 5x zoom, lack of aperture priority and craving some more camera control.

My newish camera is a Canon SX710 with 30x zoom and all sorts of controls that I’m in the process of learning how to use…

Clusters of wet seeds, January 2016. This was zoomed in and then ‘manually’ focussed.Wet seed clusters in Queen Elizabeth Park in January Clusters of wet seeds, January 2015. This was set to macro and shot up really close as the macro refused to focus when zoomed in.
Wet sedum seed clusters in Queen Elizabeth Park in January January 2016. Pink Hellebore, zoomed in and slightly out of focus, as I was having trouble with the manual focus.
Pink Hellebore at QE Park in January January 2015. Pink Hellebore photographed on my old camera from underneath. This is the same flower as above; it’s just that January 2015 was way warmer than 2016, and the flower below was already dying. Also my old camera was much better with macro.
Hellebore in the rain January 2016. Snow drops, zoomed in, using my new camera.
Snowdrop flowers at QE Park in January January 2015. Snowdrops photographed from much further away on my old camera.
Snowdrop flowers at QE Park in JanuaryAnother snowdrop shot from 2015.
Snowdrops under a Twisted Tree in January in Queen Elizabeth Park Original Cardinal Guzman’s the Changing Seasons: January 2016

 

2 responses to “Changing Seasons in the Park: January 2015

Leave a Reply

