One Four Challenge February Week 2: The Texture of Winter

On last week’s post I got a question from Turtle Moon Impressions, “How did you get so far out into the wilderness to take the shot?”

I’m embarrassed to say that the photo was shot from inside a nice toasty warm car, merely gazing at the wonderful winter scenery on Hwy 5 that was flying by my window, something I call ‘drive-by shooting’. *I have put more about the highway at the bottom of this post, just in case you’re interested in heading out deep into winter.

Onto this week’s One Four Challenge. I ran the image through the photo app Matter with the idea that I would cut out sections and replace them with other ‘winter’ textures. I quite liked the way Matter produced crystalline structures, and my favourite is these icy shards driving deep into the image.
Coming home on Hwy 1 with snowy trees, the aqua version transformed in Matter I was planning to cut these ones up but that’s not working quite like I envisioned. I need another week, and in the meantime here is the base of what I’m trying to work with.Coming home on Hwy 1 with snowy trees, the pale green version transformed in Matter Coming home on Hwy 1 with snowy trees, the pale green version transformed in Matter

I just found an interesting example of cut-in images at http://robweissillustration.com/2016/02/16/pamjat-city/ . It is similar (but different) to what I’m trying to achieve. I like his sketch part – sometimes I forget that the best way to visualize something is by thinking it through OFF the computer.

*I was trying to figure out exactly where on the drive this photo was taken, and decided that it would probably be near Hope because of the deciduous trees. Then I remembered that my camera had GPS on it and found out exactly where I took the shot.

It was much further along Hwy 5 than I thought, close to the Coquihalla Summit. I’m not particularly fond of this portion of Hwy 5; the mountains are all rolly-polly with none of the jaw-dropping, picture-snapping grandeur that one finds on the other nearby Highways.
Winter on Hwy 5 Map Still, after a fresh snowfall the scenery looks pretty good. Of course, all that heavenly snow meant that the road conditions were chaotic, and I was commanded to stop taking pictures as the driver needed to concentrate, and he couldn’t do that with me bouncing up and down in my seat trying to get shots! Anyway, here are the two other shots I managed to snap before I subsided into my seat.
Drive-by shooting on Hwy 5 of snowy trees Drive-by shooting on Hwy 5 of snowy treesI am trying to collage both the above images into this month’s main image. I also posted some other ‘winter texture’ shots on this week’s Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge, which was aptly named ‘Things that are Cold‘.

More of Robyn G’s One Four Challenge February Week 2.

6 responses to “One Four Challenge February Week 2: The Texture of Winter

    • I was trying to add the link on my iPad and although I did manage that, I gave up doing any more until I got up to a proper computer. Basically your illustration was very intriguing to me as it was similar (but different) to what I am trying to do. I like the sketch part – sometimes I forget that the best way to visualize something is by thinking it through OFF the computer.

  1. I’m intrigued also. Really find #3 very appealing! Love that you got your shots from the car and that you worked out where it was.
    Definitely looking forward to the next instalment 😃😃 inspiring!!

Leave a Reply

