One Four Challenge May Week 1: The Lion of Segovia

This is the original untouched photo of a lion statue in front of a church in Segovia, Spain.

I stress ‘untouched’ because it already has the ‘unreal’ look that I get from various photo apps, and now I was wondering what sort of damage I could inflict on this poor photo if I really ran it through some apps!
In Segovia, Spain, the white statue of a lion in front of a church My first stop was Sketch Guru where I love the effect of ‘Gouache‘!
Segovia Lion Statue in Sketch Guru GouacheThe ‘Watercolour‘ effect has such pretty colours that I got sucked into liking it too.
Segovia Lion Statue in Sketch Guru Watercolour My biggest problem with Sketch Guru isn’t the wonderful effects, but the fact that the largest I can save is 1280 x 961 pixels. This is perfect for the web but for print the largest size would be 4 x 5, and some of the results are so great I would like to print at 8 x 10 or even larger.
Screen Grab of the Lion of Segovia in Sketch Guru showing the different sizes More of Robyn G’s One Four Challenge for May 2016.

5 responses to “One Four Challenge May Week 1: The Lion of Segovia

  1. I agree with above comments, the watercolor version is lovely. I like the colors brought out in the building and lion. Interesting take on an image, looking forward to seeing where you go with it as the month moves along.

  2. Hi Eliza – I can see you’re going to have fun with this one!
    I’m kinda drawn to the very bright watercolour version 😀 I like the details it brings out in the lion.
    Looking forward to the next ones!

Leave a Reply

