Mixed Media Struggle 1: Using Photoshop to Second Guess Myself on a Problem Painting

In my second class my ‘scribble’ painting had taken off in the wrong direction.

My original plan was to feature a larger scribbled swoop on top of the scribble image transfers, as well as having curled black and white ribbons coming off the surface. Somehow this plan had gone by the wayside. Instead I had added tacky fish transfers and now they had to go!

'scribble' painting with tacky fish images added

‘scribble’ painting with tacky fish images added

The first step was to gesso over my fish transfers and add a blue glaze back onto the gessoed section. I still had no idea of what to do with it so I took a photo of the newly gessoed painting and put it into Photoshop.

There I added some big swirls  but none of them looked quite right with the centred design. One thing I had liked on the painting earlier was the look of the pale bluish drips of the medium before it dried. So maybe I could add some interesting ‘drips’ to the painting? In Photoshop I layered a photo of some ‘drippy’ graffiti over the painting. This was much better, but not something I could duplicate via paint.

photo of black scribble graffiti layered over scribble painting in Photoshop

photo of black scribble graffiti layered over scribble painting in Photoshop

I did some more experimentation in Photoshop with the same drippy graffiti shot.

playing around with my 'Scribble' painting in Photoshop

playing around with my ‘Scribble’ painting and my graffiti photo in Photoshop

Looking at these images, I think I will add a second panel to this and try for a two panel painting.

And as I seem to have hit a block on all four paintings that I’m working on, maybe I will try to ‘photoshop’ them all…

Our super instructor’s site: http://jeannekrabbendam.com/ On her site she has her work and offers lots of different workshops and courses.

Mixed Media Class Experience:

Class 1 Image Transfer

Class 2 Textures and Struggles

Leave a Reply

