One Four Challenge August Week 4: Conservatory

This week I wanted to use a monochrome look to emphasize the Victorian ‘Industrial’ quality of this Spanish conservatory.

I thought for sure Stackable’s ‘Tintype’ formula would fill the bill but in my one image the focus was just too sharp to work. The second image, being slightly misty to start with, worked better.Conservatory/Art Gallery in Madrid's Retiro Park, Spain in Stackables 'Tin-Type' formula Stackable’s ‘Winter Blues’ formula worked for both but I’m not sure if it’s ‘industrial’ looking.
Conservatory/Art Gallery in Madrid's Retiro Park, Spain in Stackables 'Winter Blues' formula I also liked  Stackable’s ‘Sandscapes’ formula for both but again was uncertain if it was industrial enough.
Conservatory/Art Gallery in Madrid's Retiro Park, Spain in Stackables 'Sandscape' formulaSo it’s back to Photoshop where a favourite overlay converts the conservatory/art gallery into a sepia monochrome. I found this overlay, and lots more, at Rene’s Playing with PSP Textures Album.
Conservatory/Art Gallery in Madrid's Retiro Park, Spain in a monochrome Photoshop overlay Two more overlays that I made out of scans of old books, both stained, one written in. I still prefer the overlay that I got online, sigh…
Conservatory/Art Gallery in Madrid's Retiro Park, Spain in a monochrome Photoshop overlay

The original.

The conservatory in Madrid's Retiro Park, Spain

Week 1: My choice of Waterlogue’s ‘Bold’ style.

Madrid Conservatory in Waterlogue 'Bold'

Week 2: My choice of Sketch Guru’s options was this lime green ‘watercolour.

Madrid Conservatory in Sketch Guru Watercolour

Week 3. Stackables ‘Rich England’ formula created a dreamy atmosphere and a hand-tinted colour look.

Madrid Conservatory in Stackables

Week 4. Grungy industrial Victorian monochrome.

Conservatory/Art Gallery in Madrid's Retiro Park, Spain in a monochrome Photoshop overlay More of Robyn G’s One Four Challenge.

4 responses to “One Four Challenge August Week 4: Conservatory

  1. Gee you had a great month this month!
    I have to say the Photoshop one – the Grungy Industrial i smy fave for the month – it suits the image so well.
    Nice work on all edits though as always!
    Apologies for my delayed response. I’ve had the flu again. On the mend now though 🙂

Leave a Reply

