October Garden Challenge: My Favourite Garden(ers)

Rather than feature my favourite garden I thought I’d pay tribute to my favourite gardeners.

Not only do the Vancouver City gardeners wonderfully manage all the larger public gardens in the city, they are also adept at planting little ‘pop-up’ gardens that never cease to give me so much joy on my walks around the city.

This spring I was walking down towards the water when I rounded a curving pathway and there before me was a grassy knoll totally carpeted in white, purple, and yellow crocuses.Spring crocuses in flowerOn the other side of the knoll stood a friend of mine who, like me, was standing there in total delight at the sight.
Purple crocuses seen on a walk through Queen Elizabeth Park in February“It’s the Vancouver City gardeners, they’re amazing!” He lived on a small boat in the marina there, and in the fall he had seen one of them “lifting up small divots of earth and almost surreptitiously depositing the bulbs,” the result of which we saw before us.
Crocuses on a grassy knoll in False Creek in Vancouver, BC Further along the sea wall is another of my favourite mini-gardens – this one tending to more subtle tones of pinks, purples, blues.
Purple artichoke flower Pink & white froth of flowers California Lilac heavy with bees and blue blooms Downtown it is the same story, where a couple of weeks ago a vibrant tropical garden drew gasps (and cameras) from a friend and I.
English Bay's pop-up tropical palm trees and garden thanks to Vancouver City gardeners English Bay's pop-up tropical palm trees and garden thanks to Vancouver City gardeners English Bay's pop-up tropical palm trees and garden thanks to Vancouver City gardeners English Bay with its Chinese fan palms provide the tropical inspiration for this little garden.English Bay's pop-up tropical palm trees and garden thanks to Vancouver City gardeners Then there are the big gardens in the public parks, such as Queen Elizabeth Park and Stanley Park, also with extensive planted areas to wander around in.
Queen Elizabeth Park Planting: Lizard Hey Jude’s October Garden Challenge: My Favourite Garden

3 responses to “October Garden Challenge: My Favourite Garden(ers)

  1. Such delightful unexpected pleasures and I too applaud your city gardeners. Vancouver is a wonderful city though I have only seen it in the autumn – how nice to see it in spring and summer. Thank you for sharing this with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

