Changing Seasons in the Park: December 2016

In Vancouver this year we have had endless snowstorms starting about mid December, and it’s snowing right now!

We aren’t used to snow. I learned to drive in the city and consequently have no idea how to drive in the snow. My two experiences driving in the snow were so horrible I don’t even bother to put on snow tires any more, telling myself that on the rare occasions it snowed I’d just take the bus or walk.

Except it turns out that I can’t even walk in the stuff. My boots have no traction and it’s freezing cold so I have been mostly snowbound since the middle of the month.

I did manage to get to the park (someone else drove) but what I really wanted to do was go into the conservatory which was warm, (“like a dose of Hawaii”, a friend said), and also decorated with lots of lights and poinsettias. But the driver nixed that idea, so we went into the restaurant, Seasons in the Park, and had coffee and cake instead.

So this wintery sunset over the Japanese bridge is all I managed.
Over the Japanese bridge in Queen Elizabeth Park in Vancouver, BC Hoarfrost on a branch.Hoarfrost on a branch in Queen Elizabeth Park in Vancouver, BC A view looking down into the garden with its wintery light.Snow catching the winter light in Queen Elizabeth Park in Vancouver, BC A view of the North Shore Mountains behind the city. They actually had a lit-up ferris wheel hanging over the edge of the quarry with what must have been an incredible view from the top. But it didn’t start until four and by then we were gone.View of the sun setting on Vancouver and the North Shore Mountains from Queen Elizabeth Park in Vancouver, BC So much for all the night photography I wanted to try out – I tried yesterday to get to the park but the sidewalks were so treacherous that I only made it to the nearest beer bar!

More of Cardinal Guzman Changing Seasons December 2016.

7 responses to “Changing Seasons in the Park: December 2016

  1. Pingback: The Changing Seasons: December 2016 | Cardinal Guzman·

Leave a Reply

