Insects, the Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Once I had to illustrate the ‘all about bugs’ section of a grade seven Science textbook. While admittedly I felt a bit crawly drawing all these insects I also learned a lot about their place in our world.

As far as my own classification I defined them as the good, the bad and the ugly.

The ‘good’ were not only beneficial, they also tended to be good-looking: butterflies, dragonflies and other pretty (and usually flying) insects. Here I show off a fair number of shots and artworks featuring these beauties.

Ladybug on dill with chives in the background; in Photoshop Express, a photo app. (Ladybugs eat aphids!)Ladybug on dill with chives in the background; in Photoshop Express, a photo appBees swarm to form a flower – a piece of art on bees on display at the Roundhouse in Yaletown, Vancouver.Bees swarm to form a flower - a piece of art on bees on display at the Roundhouse in Yaletown, VancouverA burgundy dragonfly in Singapore run through the photo app Photoshop Express. (Dragonflies eat ‘bad’ mosquitos!)A burgundy dragonfly in Singapore run through the photo app Photoshop ExpressAll sorts of pretty flying bugs on a piece of wallpaper on display in Amsterdam, Holland.All sorts of pretty flying bugs on a piece of wallpaper on display in Amsterdam, HollandButterfly TVs to advertise PEMC’s educational programming during Spring Break – as you can tell from the antennas I did this drawing a long time ago.Butterfly TVs to advertise PEMC's educational programming during Spring BreakI see I also used a butterfly to represent the spring term for VSB Night Classes.I used a butterfly to represent the spring term for VSB Night ClassesThe ‘bad’ insects are those that bite and spread disease such as fleas, mosquitos, ticks and biting flies. If I see any near me my first response is ‘Kill, kill, kill!” Consequently those nasty numbers don’t last long enough to be photographed, except perhaps as a squashed mess.

I have no shots of these other than this ‘fly’ light in the Escher Museum in Holland.Fly light in the Escher Museum in Den Haag, HollandThen there were my favourites: the ‘ugly’ ones. I mean who couldn’t love a spider?

Okay, maybe a lot of people.

Still they are fascinating – I never got a copy of that textbook I illustrated but I still have the sketches of a few spider cartoon characters (which for some reason I combined with a playful kitten). In the process of illustrating the textbook I learned that spiders not only have eight legs, they also have eight eyes and thought what great expressions I could put on them!
sketch of spider cartoon characters (and for some reason a playful kitten). I had just learned that spiders has eight eyes and thought what great expressions I could put on themHere an ugly bug has been overlaid with handwritten notes from an old copy of magic spells in the Torture Museum in Potes, Spain. I used ‘Difference Clouds’ to bring out both the bug and the lettering and call it ‘The Magic Spell’.
The Magic SpellMore of Jennifer Nichole-Wells One Word Photo Challenge: Insect.

One response to “Insects, the Good, the Bad and the Ugly

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Challenges: August 27 – September 2 (OWPC & WW) – Jennifer Nichole Wells·

Leave a Reply

