Granville Island's Rusty Corrugated Metal Buildings

My Muse is Corrugated Metal

Whenever I feel the need to go out and shoot photos I usually head down to Granville Island, a former industrial site that now has Vancouver’s farmer’s market, restaurants, art galleries and lots and lots of corrugated metal.

How do I love corrugated metal? Let me count the ways….

Bare winter branches contrast yellow against black.
Yellow Branches Against a Black WallThe corrugated metal siding of a floating home reflects in the False Creek harbour.
ripple effectOpus, where I buy most of my art supplies, is always good for spray-painted corrugations.
corrugated wall by OpusI like the way it looks as a backdrop to weeds growing up out of the cracks in the pavement.
13Jnweedcorrugatedmetal1746wBut mostly I love the way it looks when it gets all rusty and falling apart!
Rust on an old industrial building on Granville IslandHave you ever seen anything more beautiful?Close-up of rust on an old industrial building on Granville IslandClose-up of rust on an old industrial building on Granville Island For more of the Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Muse

7 thoughts on “My Muse is Corrugated Metal

    1. Actually you probably hit the nail on the head when you mentioned corrosion – I love the way the world decays… I suppose corrugated metal has not only corrosion but also adds an interesting linear factor to the mix…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.