Silver Star ski hill with snowy trees

Editing Photos with Lots of White

White on white is always tricky to photograph; things like a mass of white blossoms or a polar bear in a snowstorm.

The light meter on most cameras evens all the tones out to a neutral grey. If the bulk of your photo is white this often translates as a dingy grey, which could work, like in this art studio.

white on white

Two original jpegs of the white hydrangeas – the first was the exposure the camera gave me, and the second where the exposure was upped plus point 7. The lighter exposure was closer to what I actually saw but a lot of texture detail was lost.

I ended up working on the darker version and lightened it as much as possible. Although this photo isn’t RAW I was able to open it in the RAW panel of Adobe Bridge (free photo sorter) where I moved the exposure up to where I wanted it – the red indicates where the highlights are blown out.

The white hydrangea flower in the RAW panel with its exposure lightened up; the red shows where it's burnt out

The darker white hydrangea edited in RAW, cropped, with Recovery, Colour Balance and Clarity fussed over. And after all that work, a completely different version of the same hydrangea mostly backlit which I think I like more.

An experiment in editing a snow scene, where there is admittedly a mass of dark areas. But even so, the white of the sun was blown out with the rest of the photo too dark.

Auto ‘Contrast’, ‘Tones’ and ‘Colour’ applied only changed the colour balance of the photo from cold blues to warm browns.

The final, using a lot of shadow/highlight and cropped.

This shot on the same mountain (Silver Star) was white on white and turned out without any work at all.

Silver Star Mountain Ski Resort: Snow-laden trees

White sky with blown-out highlights that I could not get back no matter what I tried VS. running it through a Stackables filter that turned the white to pale gold. It’s a completely different feel – not sure which one I like best…

White sky with clouds on a cold December day

Two different ways of shooting cherry blossoms: back-lit and front-lit. The back-lit was fairly dark, needing a lot of strategic lightening with the lightening ‘wand’ and shadows put back in via Clarity.

back-lit white cherry blossoms

More of the Lens-Artists Photo Challenge: Before and After.

25 thoughts on “Editing Photos with Lots of White

  1. What a great idea to use white on white with your challenge. I loved all the photos and loved more the way you described how you mastered it. Thank you for this, Elizabeth.

  2. white on white is one of the most difficult photography challenges Elizabeth. You’ve tackled it beautifully and shown us different ways to do so. As always your images are wonderful!

  3. An important problem you tackled here – thank you for a run through of possibilities! A marvellous header shot too, and I agree about the colour red. Impossible to get it right.

      1. Good idea. It seems I have left a lot of that behind since I retired from work. ..Too lazy and too much to do the last three years. I constantly wish for a more peaceful and slow life. I thought I would find that now…

  4. You’ve provided some great tips for dealing with white subjects. The highlights are so easily blown out. I especially like the sequence of shots on the ski slopes.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.