Raven up on Cypress Mountain, West Vancouver, Canada

Crows and Ravens, Muses & Sketches

After uprooting my newly planted herbs and flinging them on the deck, this little demon crow has been burying peanuts in my plant pots. I have put wire cages on the plants so that he can’t get at them and hopefully the plants will root. Or perhaps I’ll end up with a big crop of peanuts…Demon Crow patrolling the railing on my deck (cherry blossoms in the background)

Messy brat. Crow problem uprooting my newly planted herbs and flinging them on the deck

A photo of my demon crow, about to squawk, “What are you looking at???”  He actually squawks loudly any time I venture out onto the deck. Then his mate joins him and they both squawk at me, and emboldened, together hop onto ‘their’ railing preparing to attack!Demon Crow "what are you looking at???" (cherry blossoms in the background)

A sketch of this devil crow.

Experiment overlaying a pencil sketch of my demon crow on a photo of the same crow and using the 'Hard Mix' Blend mode in Photoshop

Another drawing where he’s giving me the evil eye. Experiment overlaying a pencil sketch of my demon crow on a photo of the same crow and using the 'Hard Mix' Blend mode in Photoshop

This crow is admiring his reflection in the half-frozen pond at the Lagoons. I had wanted to do some studies of water but just had to add this little guy. Crow admiring his reflection in the half-frozen pond at the Lagoons

The sketch of the crow at the Lagoons with a watercolour background and the details brought out with a scratchy old pen and acrylic ink, black ink for the crow and white ink for the pond reflections.  Watercolour sketch of a crow admiring himself in the rippled reflections in the water at the Lagoons

Raven the colour of an oil slick, down on Tonquin beach near Tofino on Vancouver Island. This was another study of water reflections and ripples that I had wanted to do. A colourful raven strutting on the beach at the end of the Tonquin Trail in Tofino on Vancouver Island, BC

Raven on top of Cypress Mountain in West Vancouver.  Raven on top of Cypress Mountain in West Vancouver

And another, also up at Cypress.Black Raven up at Cypress Mountain

I thought this raven would be fairly easy after drawing several crows. But the raven is a completely different bird, and it took me three hours to get this pencil drawing. Plus I hadn’t sized him properly for the page so I ended up doing a separate drawing of his bottom half on the other side of the sketchbook. pencil sketch of Raven

On top of that, when I inked it in and finished it I realized that the beak was way too small in proportion to the head and had to go back and fix that.
watercolour, acrylic & pen sketch of a raven

More of Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Birds.

7 thoughts on “Crows and Ravens, Muses & Sketches

  1. You are very talented to capture ravens. Until I lived in BC, I never appreciated these clever birds. They have so much character, more so than ones I commonly see in Toronto. Do ravens even exist here? I did a quick google search & it says that they do not live in the “heavily populad areas of Southern Ontario.” Clever birds!

    1. I think Ravens don’t exist in Vancouver City proper; not even in the parks and wild areas which are populated with both Bald Eagles and masses of Great Blue Herons. One has to climb one of the local mountains to see them – I guess they are truly solitary birds.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.